This is the "African American Periodicals" page of the "John O. Whitney - Readex Archive of Americana Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

John O. Whitney - Readex Archive of Americana Collection  

Last Updated: Feb 6, 2014 URL: http://campusguides.stthom.edu/whitneyreadex Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

African American Periodicals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.

This collection is based upon James P. Dinky’s monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). Drawn from matchless holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the struggles and triumphs of the modern era. Editorial views from the pages of these periodicals include opinions on the abolitionist movement; “Jim Crow” segregation; African American achievements in literature, music, sports and science; the beginning of the Freedom Movement; the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1968; and more.

To access this collection, please click here.

More Ways to Ask Questions

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nicholas Kowalski
Contact Info
Collection Development Librarian
Doherty Library
University of St. Thomas
713-525-2182
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip