This is the "Home" page of the "Early U.S. History Web Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Early U.S. History Web Sources   Tags: history  

Primary sources on the Web for pre-1877 U.S. history
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2013 URL: http://campusguides.stthom.edu/content.php?pid=17472 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Explore

General

AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History

History Matters: search for primary sources and other history Web sites

Internet Archive: a rich source for finding digitized texts on the Web

Making of America (U Michigan): extensive full-text available for 19th-century materials

Modern History Sourcebooks from Paul Halsall at Fordham

Library of Congress

 

 

Library Databases

New York Times Historical, 1851-2004

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Slavery, Abolition, and the Civil War

Documenting the American South

  • subject entries for 'slavery' and 'abolition'

African American Odyssey (Library of Congress)

  • topics include slavery, abolition, Civil War, Reconstruction

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection - browse documents

Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War

John Brown. An address by Frederick Douglass (Internet Archive)

Exploring Amistaddocuments

Gilder Lehrman Center Online Documents

Brooklyn in the Civil War

Slaves and the Courts (Library of Congress)

Cato's letter - 'Having Tasted the Sweets of Freedom'

The Nineteenth Century in Print: Books (Library of Congress)

Crisis of the Union (U. Penn. - Department of History)

American Civil War History Sourcebook (from Paul Halsall @ Fordham)

Declaration of Sentiments Urged Equal Rights for Women - Women's Rights Conventions adopted declaration, resolutions in 1848 (Elizabeth Cady Stanton)

William Lloyd Garrison - from PBS with links to historical documents

Letters to Catherine E. Beecher from A.E. Grimke (Internet Archive)

An Appeal to Christian Women of the South - A.E. Grimke (Internet Archive)

Dred Scott Case (Library of Congress)

The Pro-Slavery Argument (1852) (Internet Archive)

Cotton is King and Pro-Slavery Arguments (1860) (Internet Archive)

 

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Viewpoints during the American Revolution

George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress

Avalon Project 18th Century documents from Yale Law School

  • includes the text of several acts, declarations, charters, and colonial constitutions
  • includes the Federalist Papers

Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention (Library of Congress)

The War for Independence Through Seneca Eyes: Mary Jemison Views the Revolution, 1775–79

Primary Sources for the American Revolution (Gilder Lehrman Institute)

Spy Letters of the American Revolution (U Michigan)

All the News?  The American Revolution and Maryland's Press (Maryland State Archives)

Writings by Thomas Paine (Online Books Page)

Declaration of Independence (National Archives)

American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution (NIU Libraries)

Benjamin Franklin in His Own Words (Library of Congress)

The Works of John Locke (McMaster Univ)

Rousseau's Social Contract (Internet Archive)

American Independence - Modern History Sourcebook (from Paul Halsall @ Fordham)

Cato's Letters - John Trenchard & Thomas Gordon
(additional volumes:
Cato's Letters vol. 2, Cato's Letters vol. 3)

The Speeches of Mr. Wilkes in the House of Commons (printed in the year 1786)

 

 

Primary Sources for Exploring the Federalists and Anti-Federalists

Federalist Papers (Project Gutenberg)

The Works of Alexander Hamilton ... (Internet Archive)
Additional volumes can be found
here)

A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents... James Madison (Internet Archive)

Additional Writings of James Madison from Internet Archive

The Life of Gerry Elbridge.  With Contemporary Letters.  (Internet Archive)

The Letters of Richard Henry Lee (Internet Archive) (also available: volume 2)

History of the rise, progress, and termination of the American Revolution - Mercy Otis Warren (additional volumes available here)

The Debates in Several State Conventions

The Anti-Federalist Papers (sound recording from Internet Archive)

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Reconstruction

Thaddeus Stevens - speeches and reports (Internet Archive)

First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920 (Library of Congress)

Memorials of a Southern Planter - Susan Dabney Smedes (Documenting the American South)

Memoirs of a Southerner - Edward J. Thomas (Documenting the American South)

The Freedman's Bureau: Reports of Generals Steedman and Fullerton on the Condition of the Freedman's Bureau in the Southern States (Library of Congress)

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 (Library of Congress)

Reconstruction and Its Aftermath (Library of Congress)

The Learning Page: Civil War and Reconstruction (Library of Congress)

The Andrew Johnson Impeachment Trial (Univ Missouri-Kansas City School of Law)

Reading the Fine Print: The Grandfather Clause in Louisiana (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

'Almost Broken Spirits': Farmers in the New South (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

One African American Dreams About Rebuilding the South (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

'When We Worked on Shares, We Couldn't Make Nothing'... (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) (Findlaw)

The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship (Library of Congress)

 

 

 

 

Explore

General

AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History

History Matters: search for primary sources and other history Web sites

Internet Archive: a rich source for finding digitized texts on the Web

Making of America (U Michigan): extensive full-text available for 19th-century materials

Modern History Sourcebooks from Paul Halsall at Fordham

Library of Congress

 

 

Library Databases

New York Times Historical, 1851-2004

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Slavery, Abolition, and the Civil War

Documenting the American South

  • subject entries for 'slavery' and 'abolition'

African American Odyssey (Library of Congress)

  • topics include slavery, abolition, Civil War, Reconstruction

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection - browse documents

Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War

John Brown. An address by Frederick Douglass (Internet Archive)

Exploring Amistaddocuments

Gilder Lehrman Center Online Documents

Brooklyn in the Civil War

Slaves and the Courts (Library of Congress)

Cato's letter - 'Having Tasted the Sweets of Freedom'

The Nineteenth Century in Print: Books (Library of Congress)

Crisis of the Union (U. Penn. - Department of History)

American Civil War History Sourcebook (from Paul Halsall @ Fordham)

Declaration of Sentiments Urged Equal Rights for Women - Women's Rights Conventions adopted declaration, resolutions in 1848 (Elizabeth Cady Stanton)

William Lloyd Garrison - from PBS with links to historical documents

Letters to Catherine E. Beecher from A.E. Grimke (Internet Archive)

An Appeal to Christian Women of the South - A.E. Grimke (Internet Archive)

Dred Scott Case (Library of Congress)

The Pro-Slavery Argument (1852) (Internet Archive)

Cotton is King and Pro-Slavery Arguments (1860) (Internet Archive)

 

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Viewpoints during the American Revolution

George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress

Avalon Project 18th Century documents from Yale Law School

  • includes the text of several acts, declarations, charters, and colonial constitutions
  • includes the Federalist Papers

Documents from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention (Library of Congress)

The War for Independence Through Seneca Eyes: Mary Jemison Views the Revolution, 1775–79

Primary Sources for the American Revolution (Gilder Lehrman Institute)

Spy Letters of the American Revolution (U Michigan)

All the News?  The American Revolution and Maryland's Press (Maryland State Archives)

Writings by Thomas Paine (Online Books Page)

Declaration of Independence (National Archives)

American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution (NIU Libraries)

Benjamin Franklin in His Own Words (Library of Congress)

The Works of John Locke (McMaster Univ)

Rousseau's Social Contract (Internet Archive)

American Independence - Modern History Sourcebook (from Paul Halsall @ Fordham)

Cato's Letters - John Trenchard & Thomas Gordon
(additional volumes:
Cato's Letters vol. 2, Cato's Letters vol. 3)

The Speeches of Mr. Wilkes in the House of Commons (printed in the year 1786)

 

 

Primary Sources for Exploring the Federalists and Anti-Federalists

Federalist Papers (Project Gutenberg)

The Works of Alexander Hamilton ... (Internet Archive)
Additional volumes can be found
here)

A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents... James Madison (Internet Archive)

Additional Writings of James Madison from Internet Archive

The Life of Gerry Elbridge.  With Contemporary Letters.  (Internet Archive)

The Letters of Richard Henry Lee (Internet Archive) (also available: volume 2)

History of the rise, progress, and termination of the American Revolution - Mercy Otis Warren (additional volumes available here)

The Debates in Several State Conventions

The Anti-Federalist Papers (sound recording from Internet Archive)

 

Primary Sources for Exploring Reconstruction

Thaddeus Stevens - speeches and reports (Internet Archive)

First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920 (Library of Congress)

Memorials of a Southern Planter - Susan Dabney Smedes (Documenting the American South)

Memoirs of a Southerner - Edward J. Thomas (Documenting the American South)

The Freedman's Bureau: Reports of Generals Steedman and Fullerton on the Condition of the Freedman's Bureau in the Southern States (Library of Congress)

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 (Library of Congress)

Reconstruction and Its Aftermath (Library of Congress)

The Learning Page: Civil War and Reconstruction (Library of Congress)

The Andrew Johnson Impeachment Trial (Univ Missouri-Kansas City School of Law)

Reading the Fine Print: The Grandfather Clause in Louisiana (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

'Almost Broken Spirits': Farmers in the New South (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

One African American Dreams About Rebuilding the South (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

'When We Worked on Shares, We Couldn't Make Nothing'... (HistoryMatters.gmu.edu)

Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) (Findlaw)

The African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship (Library of Congress)

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Joe Goetz
Contact Info
Doherty Library
University of St. Thomas
713-942-5972
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip