This is the "Google Scholar" page of the "Google Scholar Full Text and RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar Full Text and RefWorks   Tags: full text, google, refworks  

Learn to access customize Google Scholar to access Doherty Library resources such as article full text and RefWorks.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://campusguides.stthom.edu/googlescholar Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Google Scholar Print Page
  Search: 
 

Using Google Scholar

1. Full Text

One of the best reasons to use Google Scholar is to look up the full text of articles. To find full text for an article, the best method is usually to copy and paste the article's full title into the Google Scholar search box, then search for it. Often, you can find articles this way that are otherwise only available through Interlibrary Loan.

2. Citation Chains

Articles in Google Scholar usually have a "Cited By" link in the results page. Click on this link to find articles that used this article in their bibliographies. This is a great way both to find sources related to an article, and to see an article's impact on other researchers.

3. Advanced Features

Access Advanced Search options by clicking the triangle in the search box at scholar.google.com

Click here to learn about more of Google Scholar's features for Google account holders, such as alerts and citation tracking.

4. Scholar Library

Google recently announced a new feature within Google Scholar called Scholar Library, which allows you to create and save collections of articles within Scholar. Find more details and instructions for setting up Scholar Library on the Google Blog. 



 

Google Scholar Full Text and RefWorks

Google Scholar (scholar.google.com) is a useful and important resource for finding scholarly journal articles. You can set up Google Scholar to show you links to licensed UST full text resources available free to you as students, staff and faculty. You can also give Google Scholar the ability to export article information to RefWorks, UST's licensed bibliographic management software. Follow the steps below to set up these services.

1. To Adjust Settings for Full Text

- At scholar.google.com, click "Settings" in the upper right.

- In the left column, click "Library Links".

- In the search box, type: university of st. thomas houston

- Click the search icon (magnifying glass).

- Check the box next to: "University of St. Thomas, Houston TX - Get Full Text @ UST"

- Click "Save."

Now you can search Google Scholar and get free full text links for your search results.

2. To Adjust Settings for RefWorks

- At scholar.google.com, click "Settings" in the upper right.

- On the first settings page, under Bibliography Manager, select "Show links to import citations into: RefWorks"

Now "Import into RefWorks" links will appear under all your Google Scholar results.

3. To Save Settings

To save your Google Scholar settings on a particular computer, make sure that cookies are enabled on your browser.

This page explains how to turn on cookies in different browsers.

Once cookies are enabled in a browser, the browser will remember your Scholar Library Link settings.

More Ways to Ask Questions

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip